Our New Bargaining Landscape

APA Pilots,

Your Board of Directors convened virtually at 1000 Central today to address yesterday’s announcement that United Airlines management has reached an agreement in principle with its pilots and the potential impact of that agreement on our pending Tentative Agreement. Much like what happened when we announced our proposed TA last fall while United was in the process of ratifying its deal at the time, it’s clear that the industry and bargaining landscape have changed yet again with the new United AIP.

While our pending TA built on some of the gains achieved in the Delta pilots’ agreement, it appears that United CEO Scott Kirby has found ways to address pay and quality-of-life items for his pilots that American CEO Robert Isom and his team have repeatedly told us were simply impossible to do here. As your elected representatives, it is our responsibility to review these new developments and determine how to proceed. To that end, the Board discussed various potential paths forward with the Negotiating Committee and voted to approve related tasking.

We are encouraged that management has agreed to meet with our negotiating team on Tuesday morning. While it is unclear at this point how management views the impact of the United deal on our TA, there should be no question that your Board of Directors believes the bargaining landscape has changed and management must address those changes in substantive and meaningful ways. The ball is in their court.

Thank you for your continued engagement. Additional information will be forthcoming as events warrant.

In Unity,

CA Ed Sicher, APA President
CA Chris Torres, APA Vice President
FO Patrick Clark, APA Secretary-Treasurer

CA Paul McFarland, BOS Domicile Chair
CA Gemma Meehan, BOS Domicile Vice Chair

CA Doug Hancock, CLT Domicile Chair
FO Erik DeWinne, CLT Domicile Vice Chair

CA Joe Collins, DCA Domicile Chair
CA Tim Doreen Jr., DCA Domicile Vice Chair

CA Jon Sherrell, DFW Domicile Chair
FO Jason Gustin, DFW Domicile Vice Chair

CA Bill Evans, LAX Domicile Chair
CA Tim Dick, LAX Domicile Vice Chair

CA Lawrence Cutler, LGA Domicile Chair
CA Jim Scanlan, LGA Domicile Vice Chair

CA Thomas Copeland, MIA Domicile Chair
CA Anne Witcher, MIA Domicile Vice Chair

CA Wes Smith, ORD Domicile Chair
FO Paul Meyers, ORD Domicile Vice Chair

FO Paul DiOrio, PHL Domicile Chair
CA Kevin Wilkes, PHL Domicile Vice Chair

CA David Duncan, PHX Domicile Chair
FO Brian Ellis, PHX Domicile Vice Chair