APA Public Email Address



APA Board of Directors Rejects LOA 21-006

Earlier today, the APA Board of Directors unanimously rejected proposed Letter of Agreement 21-006, which management offered for incentive pay for 19 peak-period days around the Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s holidays. The proposal offered 50% additional pay for flying done on peak period days and for work done by Check Airmen. Premium flights and CKA overtime days would be paid at 100% overtime pay. The proposal also offered A12 travel during the peak periods and would have extended the vaccine pay and removal provisions of LOA 21-002.

The Board received a full briefing from the Negotiating Committee and thoroughly considered all aspects of the proposed LOA before voting 20-0 to reject it. While understanding that its rejection creates a disparity among our fellow work groups that have accepted management’s proffered incentives, the Board concluded that the need to achieve meaningful permanent improvements in a new collective bargaining agreement must remain APA’s focus.

APA has communicated at the bargaining table, and through higher level discussions, its ongoing frustrations with the pace of Section 6 negotiations and that meaningful Section 6 progress must be made. It’s ironic that fixes to many of the operational concerns that led management to offer incentives are directly addressed in APA’s Section 6 proposals, which management has been holding for months. APA’s targeted approach is designed to advance the contract, address quality-of-life concerns, and find sustainable solutions to improve operational integrity.

APA stands ready, as it always has, to engage in serious Section 6 talks. Your APA Board of Directors, National Officers, and Negotiating Committee await management’s equal commitment.

APA President CA Eric Ferguson
APA Vice President CA Patrick O’Rourke
APA Secretary-Treasurer FO Pat Clark

BOS Chair CA Peter Gamble
BOS Vice Chair CA Curt Detzer

CLT Chair FO Casey Granger
CLT Vice Chair CA Doug Hancock

DCA Chair CA Joe Collins
DCA Vice Chair CA Tim Doreen

DFW Chair CA Rob Baker
DFW Vice Chair FO Chris Torres

LAX Chair CA John Karam
LAX Vice Chair CA Bill Evans

LGA Chair CA Mike Burr
LGA Vice Chair CA R Scott Heckenberger

MIA Chair CA Scott Iovine (DDR)
MIA Vice Chair FO Shane Vaughn

ORD Chair CA Dave Powell
ORD Vice Chair FO Tim Daudelin

PHL Chair FO Paul DiOrio
PHL Vice Chair FO Kevin Wilkes

PHX Chair CA David Duncan
PHX Vice Chair FO Brian Ellis

Posted in: Public News
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Search News